GESA Executive

Every year, graduate students at the School of the Environment elect an Executive to lead the Graduate Environmental Students’ Association. Running for a GESA position is a great way to become involved with the vibrant interdisciplinary community at the School. We encourage graduate students enrolled in the School’s collaborative programs to join us!

Executive Roles & Responsibilities

  • President
    • Coordinates the GESA Exec and presides over meetings
    • Primary contact person for School of the Environment administration
    • Seeks out and builds relationships with other student and environmental organizations at U of T and in the broader community
  • Vice President
    • Supports the President and takes on their duties when they are not available
  • Secretary
    • Organizes GESA Exec meetings and assists in running them
    • Records and distributes meeting notes
  • Treasurer
    • Keeps GESA’s bank account and financial records in good order
    • Prepares an annual financial report
    • Seeks out and applies for funding sources
  • Communications Coordinator
    • Communicates GESA events and news to members
    • Maintains the GESA website and social media accounts
  • Social Events Coordinator
    • Plans and organizes GESA social events, working with the Exec and general membership
  • Academic Events Coordinator
    • Plans and organizes GESA academic events, working with the Exec and general membership
  • UTGSU Representatives (2)
    • Attend monthly Graduate Student Union meetings
    • Act as liason between GESA and the GSU

Current GESA Executives

NamePositionField of Study
Bill KroegerPresidentEnglish
Morgan Lee Vice PresidentMunk School of Global Affairs
Jon-Paul MastrogiacomoSecretaryAtmospheric Physics
Lawson GillespieTreasurerAtmospheric Physics

Past GESA Executives


NamePositionField of Study
Lawson GillespiePresidentPhysics
Lois BoodyVice PresidentOISE
Gayatri ThakorSecretaryOISE
Linh NgoTreasurerOISE
Nolan ScharperCommunications Coordinator MSE
Lilly FlawnCommunications CoordinatorMSE
Sicheng DaiAcademic Events CoordinatorMSE
Yichen WuSocial Events CoordinatorMSE


NamePositionField of Study
Emiko NewmanPresident
Lois BoodyVice President
Simran PersaudSecretary
Linh NgoTreasurer
Emily WatkinsCommunications Coordinator
Carolina CanepariSocial Events Coordinator
Lidiya BeidaAcademic Events Coordinator
Lawson GillespieUTGSU Representative 1
Frida NeriUTGSU Representative 2


NamePositionField of Study
Lois BoodyUTGSU Representative
Carolina CanepariSocial Events Coordinator
Christian ElliottVice President
David Ross HallAcademic Events Coordinator
Haruki HirasawaPresident
Emiko NewmanCommunications Coordinator
Jasmine YuSecretary


NamePositionField of Study
Prarthana NarayananPresidentRotman School of Management
Korawit BooranakitVice-PresidentRotman School of Management
Haruki HirasawaTreasurerPhysics
Christian ElliottUTGSU RepresentativePolitical Science
Brittany MorisonCommunication CoordinatorFaculty of Information
Hazel SandsAcademic Events Coordinator Faculty of Information
Aikansh JainSecretary Rotman School of Management


NamePositionField of Study
Charlie WhiteCo-PresidentPhysics
Janina KowalskiCo-PresidentGeography


NamePositionField of Study
Charlie WhiteCo-PresidentPhysics
Janina KowalskiCo-PresidentGeography
Lynessa DarkoCo-Vice PresidentChemical Engineering
Courtneay HopperCo-Vice PresidentAnthropology
Edward Kim TreasurerMunk School of Global Affairs
 Jennifer LangillUTGSU RepresentativeGeography
Brianna Botchwey Member-at-largePolitical Science
Samantha SteadMember-at-largeAnthropology


NamePositionField of Study
Brianna Botchwey PresidentPolitical Science
Joaquin Bardallo BanderaVice-PresidentPolitical Science
Brendan Byrne TreasurerPhysics
Edward Kim TreasurerMunk School of Global Affairs
Janina KowalskiSocial CoordinatorGeography
 Fatin Tawfig Communication CoordinatorPolitical Science
Katie Valentine Communication CoordinatorGeography
Charlie WhiteUTGSU RepresentativePhysics
 Jennifer LangillUTGSU RepresentativeGeography
Courtneay HopperMember-at-largeAnthropology


NamePositionField of Study
Sang-Kyun (Rafael) BongPresidentLaw
Joaquin BardalloVice PresidentPolitical Science
Brianna BotchweySecretary Political Science
Brendan ByrneTreasurerPhysics
Emile LavergneSocial Events CoordinatorMunk School of Global Affairs
Ellen GuteCommunications CoordinatorChemistry
Malcom RamsayUTGSU representativeAnthropology
Ramona ReeceUTGSU representativePolitical science


NamePositionField of Study
Dan WeaverPresidentPhysics
Sang-Kyun (Rafael) BongVice PresidentLaw
Julia LevinSecretaryOISE
Jon ObnamiaTreasurerChemical Engineering
Malcom Ramsay Social Events CoordinatorAnthropology
Heather WheelerSocial Events CoordinatorCell & Systems Biology
Mehreen AtharCommunications CoordinatorInformation Studies
Marie-Line SarrazinUTGSU representativeGeography
Andrew BrinnUTGSU representativeSPPG